Archaeology

Librarians

Nizar Souda

Welcome

This subject guide provides access to the Unisa Library's key resources for Archaeology.

You are welcome to explore them and then to contact your Personal Librarian if you have any queries.

Area Studies
Scholarly Peer-reviewed Articles

Peer-reviewed articles are usually found in scholarly journals while popular or general articles often are found in popular magazines.

Scholarly Journals Criteria Popular Magazines
JAMA

Political Science Quarterly
Type of source

Lengthy, in depth. Often includes tables, graphs, statistics.

Serious appearance, not heavily graphic.

Generally includes abstract and citation list.

Advertisements aimed at the scholarly audience it serves.

Purpose of the articles is usually to present original research or experiments.

Length and appearance of articles

Scholars, experts.

Credentials always included.

Peer reviewed, refereed or juried: critically evaluated by a knowledge panel of experts.

Usually published by a scholarly or university press.

Authorship/Editorial
Includes words like: review, journal, research, quarterly, studies, transactions, proceedings, archives. Title
Technical, likely to include the jargon of the field. Assumes some background knowledge from the reader. Language
Traditional structure usually requires: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, references  Article structure
Published bi-monthly, quarterly, semi-annually, or annually. Frequency
Professors, researchers, professionals, experts, students; people who are already interested in the topic. Audience   
Search a specific database for articles.
Art & Architecture Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : EBSCO Main database : EBSCOhost Research Databases
Printed Reference Books
Quick Links
WorldCat Search Box
Searching for books and other resources
Use the library catalog to identify and locate books, video, audio and other material in our library. It is often best to begin with a detailed keyword search. Once you have identified an item that is within the scope of your research, use the subject headings found in the record describing it to locate similar materials. Also, when you retrieve a book from the shelf, you may wish to peruse the books shelved near it as they are likely to be on the same, or a related, subject.

Use WorldCat to identify materials held by other libraries around the world. Most of these you will need to request via interlibrary loan should you wish to use them. ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system, is linked below. Please feel free to use the interlirbary loan service, but be sure you have planned for the time it will take for books to be shipped here. Articles are usually delivered electronically and, therefore, much quicker.

Google Book Search offers certain advantages such as the ability to search the full-text of works as well as the ability to view the text of works that are no longer restricted by copyright. If you find something in Google Books that appears to be useful for your research, but you cannot view the book, be sure to check to see if the book is in our library. If not, you can place an interlibrary lon request.
Tips

Be careful when selecting information from websites as this information can be added by anyone.

Information from subject databases is more reliable than internet sites.

 

General Archaeology Web Sites

Archaeological Commentary and Reports: Offered by The Bible and Interpretation site.
Archaeological interpretation and excavations relevant to the study of the Bible for the public and biblical scholars

Archaeological Excavations Relating to Jewish History (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Information about excavations in different sites including Megiddo

Archimedia I: Architecture in the Ancient Near East (University of Haifa)
Displays numerous views, plans and sections, and axonometric and computerized reconstructions of the pyramids, a Mycenean palace, and ziggurats.

Archimedia II: Architecture in Ancient Greece (University of Haifa)
Focuses on the temple, the agora and the private house.

Archnet (Archaeological Research Institute, Arizona State University)
Extensive collection of links to wide range of websites, syllabi, data archives, bibliographies, etc. covering archaeology worldwide.

Digital Atlas of the Holy Land (Archaeological Research Institute, Arizona State University)
An international project that combines Geographic Information Systems (GIS) with the archaeology of the Holy Land (modern Israel, Palestine, Jordan, southern Lebanon, Syria and the Sinai Peninsula).

ETANA (Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives)
An electronic publishing project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East. Contains digitized core texts, an archival repository for archaeological data and site reports, English translations of Akkadian texts.  Includes Abzu, a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world

Giza Plateau Mapping Project (Oriental Institute, University of Chicago)
A research site on the geology and topography of the Giza plateau, the construction and function of the Sphinx, the Great Pyramids, the associated tombs and temples, and the Old Kingdom town in the vicinity.

Israel Antiquities Authority, Jerusalem
Includes detailed information on archaeology in Israel, online access to the journal 'Atiquot,  and special topics such as face care and makeup in the ancient world, board games in ancient Israel, etc.  Links to the IAA Library.

Nestor (University of Cincinnati)
An international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.

West Bank and East Jerusalem Searchable Map (USC Libraries)
Maps and lists of the archaeology sites that have been surveyed or excavated since Israel occupied the West Bank and East Jerusalem in 1967.  Includes a bibliography and the Sourcebook for the Project.
West Bank and East Jerusalem Archaeological Database Project (Tel Aviv University)
This resource provides a database of about 6000 archaeological sites in the West Bank and East Jerusalem. The sites are being plotted onto GIS maps so that researchers can more fully utilize the data. It forms part of an Israeli-Palestinian dialog initiative concerning the standing of archaeological sites and materials in the event of final status negotiation.
Cosponsored by USC's Center for Religion and Civic Culture.

Internet sites
Librarians

Nizar Souda

International Newspapers
Newspapers Databases






Museums
There are numerous museums around the world with collections of ancient Greek and Roman art.  Below are several with major collections.
 
Atlases
 
  • The atlas of world archaeology by Bahn, Paul G.
    Call Number: CC165 .A85 2000
    ISBN: 0816040516
  • Atlas of ancient archaeology by Hawkes, Jacquetta Hopkins
    Call Number: GN739 .H38
    ISBN: 007027293X
Dictionaries
 
The Oxford companion to archaeology by Fagan, Brian M.
Call Number: Reference CC70 .O96 1996
ISBN: 0195076184