Biology Science

"Streaked Warbler"/Port Jackson Painter

First Fleet Collection (Natural History Museum, London). (ARTstor)
Journals

FInding Journals by Title and A to Z list for Biology

  • To locate any journal by its title (electronic, print or microform), use this link to take you to the Catalog.
  • Tips: for a precise or efficient search,to the right of the 1st box use the drop down menu and select Periodical Title.

For A-Z list of electronic journals at UM use this link: Biology e-journals

 

UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory

For finding information about journals,magazines, and other publications:

Core Article Databases
  • Biology Database (1998 - current) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
    The Biological Science Database provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE®, bringing ProQuest’s award-winning search functionality and the ability to cross-search with over 30 subject-specialized abstract and citation databases. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : ProQuest Main database : ProQuest Central‎  (1970 - current)
 
  • Academic Search Ultimate Restricted Resource Some full text available
    EBSCO offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : EBSCO Main database : EBSCOhost Research Databases
     
  • NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) Unrestricted Resource
    The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
 
Find Books, Articles and More!

MEIM Vufind Search:

Google Scholar
Subject Guide

Massoud AlShareef

Dina Hashim

  • المشرف على ترجمة أدلة النظام والمعرفة
  • dina@kwareict.com
  • +966 555 5555
Tradescant's Orchard

Early 17th century. Bodleian Library, University of Oxford
http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk/. ARTstor.
Supporting Indexes & Databases
  • National Agricultural Library (Agricola) Unrestricted Resource
    Provides citations to agricultural literature including food/food safety and nutrition, plants and crops, natural resources, environment, and more. 
  • Annual Reviews Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
    The Annual Reviews service provides searchable, full text access to review articles published in 29 series covering the biomedical, physical and social sciences. 
 
  • Biology Database (1998 - current) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
    The Biological Science Database provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE®, bringing ProQuest’s award-winning search functionality and the ability to cross-search with over 30 subject-specialized abstract and citation databases. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : ProQuest Main database : ProQuest Central‎  (1970 - current)
 
  • Academic Search Ultimate Restricted Resource Some full text available
    EBSCO offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : EBSCO Main database : EBSCOhost Research Databases ​
 
  • PLoS (Public Library of Science) Unrestricted Resource
    Nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature freely available. PLoS open access journals include: PLoS Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine, and more. 
  • SciVal Experts Unrestricted Resource
    SciVal Experts (formerly Collexis) is a tool that allows researchers to pinpoint UM biomedical faculty by their area of proficiency. 
  • Toxnet Unrestricted Resource
    Collection of toxicology and environmental health databases, hazardous chemicals and toxic releases. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine 
Find Books, Articles and More!

MEIM Vufind Search:

Google Scholar
Aglais milberti

Tree of Life Web Project. 1995. Arthropoda. Version 01 January 1995 (temporary). http://tolweb.org/Arthropoda/2469/1995.01.01in The Tree of Life Web Project, http://tolweb.org/
Reference, Encyclopedias

Genetics Reference Guide

Student and consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human healt
 

  • Animal Diversity Web Unrestricted Resource
    Open access database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation. From the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology. 
 
  • Biology Database (1998 - current) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
    The Biological Science Database provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE®, bringing ProQuest’s award-winning search functionality and the ability to cross-search with over 30 subject-specialized abstract and citation databases. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : ProQuest Main database : ProQuest Central‎  (1970 - current)
 
  • Academic Search Ultimate Restricted Resource Some full text available
    EBSCO offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : EBSCO Main database : EBSCOhost Research Databases
 ​
  • Encyclopedia of Life Unrestricted Resource
    Open access global effort to document all 1.8 million named species of animals, plants, and other forms of life. Initiated by Edward O. Wilson, biologist, professor emeritus, Harvard. 
 
  • Genetics Reference Unrestricted Resource
    Student and consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health. Includes basic information about chromosomes, DNA, genes, etc. 
 
  • Scitable Unrestricted Resource
    Open access science library and personal learning tool from Nature Publishing. Concentrates on genetics, evolution, variation. Option for faculty to create classroom learning group. Well suited for undergraduate students. 
 
  • Tree of Life Unrestricted Resource
    Collaboration between biologists and nature enthusiasts worldwide. Project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history. Pages are linked hierarchically in the form of the evolutionary tree of life. Open access.  ​
Find Books, Articles and More!

MEIM Vufind Search:

Google Scholar
Conception of Web, 1490

Fly Watches a Spider Spin His Web. Anonymous artists, 1490. (ARTstor)
Interesting Web Sites
  • BugGuide Unrestricted Resource
    Great photography. Informative text about insects, spiders, and "other related creatures". Site featured in WebWatch column of BioTechniques 47:5, 2009. Hosted by Iowa State University Department of Entomology. 

  • Biodidac Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable collection of biological images that can be used for educational purposes with proper attribution. Sections include eubacteria, protista, fungi, plantae, animalia, human biology and histology. New material has not been added since 2001. 

  • DIVEIN Unrestricted Resource
    Performs automated maximum likelihood phylogenetic analyses of nucleotide and amino acid sequences. See Deng W, Maust BS, Nickle DC, Learn GH, Liu Y, Heath L, Kosakovsky Pond SL, Mullins JI 2010 DIVEIN: a web server to analyze phylogenies, sequence divergence, diversity, and informative sites. BioTechniques 48:405-408 

  • GEISHA (Gallus Expression In Situ Hybridization Analysis) Unrestricted Resource
    Gene expression profiles in chick embryos during first 6 days post-fertilization. Fantastic images. 

  • NextBio Basic Unrestricted Resource
    Provides free access to a curated, correlated database of public data; integrated literature, clinical trials, and scientific news. Allows registered users to personalize NextBio and communicate, collaborate, and share data with the entire NextBio community. 

  • Nikon Small World Photomicrography Competition Unrestricted Resource
    Showcases the beauty and complexity of life as seen through the light microscope. 2012 winning images on site. 

  • Olympus BioScapes International Digital Imaging Competition Unrestricted Resource
    Honors the world's most extraordinary microscope images of life science subjects. Enter your images by Sept. 30, 2013 for this year's competition. 

  • Science Commons Unrestricted Resource
    Three interlocking initiatives designed to accelerate the research cycle: making scientific research “re-useful”, enabling “one-click” access to research materials, and integrating fragmented information sources. University of Miami faculty are encouraged to contribute to Science Commons. 

  • Swingle Plant Anatomy Reference Collection Unrestricted Resource
    This digital archive shows a selection of slides from the Swingle Reference Collection of 3,200 specimens on over 26,000 glass microscope slides, from 575 plant species. Majority of specimens collected in the early 20th century. 
Find Books, Articles, and More!

MEIM Vufind Search:

Google Scholar
Learn to use citation software

RefWorks sign up
Refworks Guide  Refworks Videos
 

Download Endnote (Desk Top Version) 
Endnote Guide to get started and find tips, & tricks
Building an EndNote Library (recording)
Building a Macintosh Library (recording)

Endnote Guides (Virginia Tech Library)
Endnote Guide (Cold Springs Harbor Lab Library)
Citation Tools
  • APA Documentation Style for Print Source & Electronic Sources (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center) Unrestricted Resource
    The APA documentation system is commonly used in the social sciences and education, as well as in fields such as nursing. It is a parenthetical documentation system; sources are cited in parentheses within your own sentences to indicate you have used ideas, information, and quotations from an outside source. The parenthetical information points to specific sources in an alphabetized list of references at the end of your paper. These webpages explain how to correctly format parenthetical citations and reference list entries for some of the most common print and electronic sources.

  • Web of Science (ISI) Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Navigate with cited reference searching and Author Finder Create a visual representation of citation relationships with Citation Mapping Capture citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report Use the Analyze Tool to identify trends and patterns Your edition(s): Science Citation Index Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index Arts & Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities Current Chemical Reactions Index Chemicus Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : Clarivate Analytics (Thomson Reuters) Main database : Web of  Science (ISI)

  • APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue University) Unrestricted Resource
    APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).

  • APA Style Unrestricted Resource
    From the American Psychological Association. Includes the latest guidelines for citing electronic media. 

  • Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide Unrestricted Resource
    Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.

  • CSE Quick Citation Guide from Penn State Unrestricted Resource
    Council of Science Editors; formerly CBE, Council of Biology Editors. 

  • Zotero Unrestricted Resource
    Free Firefox extension for collecting, managing and citing your sources. 

  • Writing@CSU Unrestricted Resource
    Excellent resource from Colorado State University. Includes guide to writing in the sciences, presenting arguments, quantitative and qualitative research methods, documenting sources, scholarly publishing and more. 
Resources for Literature Reviews
These resources are just a few examples to explain how to tackle the job of writing a Literature Review.
 

Tips for writing your first scientific literature review

  • From: ASBMB (American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)

Ten Simple Rules for Writing a Literature Review


From PLOS.org (Public Library of Science) to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
 
The Literature Review

A literature review can serve at least two purposes:

1) act as part of the introduction to a research paper and

2) be an end in itself.

What it is and what it is not:

  • A literature review is a focussed synopsis of the current state of research that pertains to your particular research question or project. It also functions to put your research into a wider context of the research in your area and to explain the reasons why you are pursuing question or thesis.

  • Very importantly, it is not merely a descriptive summary of the research that went before yours, but a critical analysis or evaluation of that information, e.g., quality, validity of results, methology, etc.
  • It should also knit together various research efforts to demonstrate how they relate to each other and to your project.

  • To avoid bias, steer away from selectively choosing research for a literature review that will only support your own thesis; instead include all that is pertinent to it and reflects differing views and findings. Your credibility will also be questioned if you promote or show disfavor toward a study or author. A literature review is an objective exercise.

  • Ensure that sources of the information reviewed are authoritative - that is, find out the credentials of authors and publications. Your librarian is happy to help you learn how to achieve this important goal.