Energy

Today In Energy

U. S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Daily Prices

  • Wholesale Spot Petroleum Prices:Crude Oil, Gasoline, Heating Oil, and Coal
  • Retail Petroleum Prices
Monthly Energy Review

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Monthly Energy Review

  • Provides energy statistics on production, consumption, and pricing on multiple sectors of energy. 
  • Mouse over Data to select Annual for statistics back to 1949.
Dept. of Energy PAGES

The DOE Public Access Gateway to research data for energy and science

  • Search for journal articles and manuscripts. 
  • Select Advanced Search to enter title, author, journal, date, etc.
Texas Production Data

Texas Railroad Commission website provides monthly production data for the state, as well as online databases that can be queried.  Tabs across the top provide information for oil and gas, alternative fuels, gas services and mining and exploration.

 

Texas Production Data

Annual Energy Outlook

 
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
(2015)
World Energy Outlook

International Energy Agency (IEA) 2014

 

Maguire Energy Institute
Prices and Statistics

The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) is the first place to look for historical and current energy statistics. It encompasses domestic and international energy information.

  • Information is provided by type: petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear, and renewable/alternative energy. 
  • Areas of interest Include pricing & consumption, analysis & projection, market & finance.

   Tips for use

  • For pricing and statistics try the Short-Term Energy Outlook by mousing over Topics on on the main page then click its link. 
  • Try the Custom Table Builder for data on supply, consumption, inventories, and prices by energy type.
  • Most information provided by the EIA can be downloaded into Excel.

For historical NYMEX contract 1-4 prices, click on Download Series History at the top of the table to download pricing information to Excel.


 

International Energy Agency (IEA) is an international source for energy.  Includes pricing, consumption, production, supply and monthly statistical surveys on coal, oil, natural gas, and electricity.  

   Tips for use

  • Click the statistics tab, select Countries and select the topic of your choice.
  • Alternatively, select Statistics, click on the map, and choose the country, energy source and year in the dropdown boxes.
  • Graphs can be created in the dropdown boxes on the lower right.
  • Downloadable Country Reviews can be found from the home page by selecting "For Students" and the topic of choice under "Key Energy Research and Publications".

CME Group NYMEX trade information for oil, gas, coal and biofuels. 

   Tips for use

  • Use the drop down under "View Another Product" to choose energy such as, Brent or Henry Hub.
  • Select the tabs to see quotes, settlements, volume, times & sales, contract specs, margins and calendar.

BP Statistical Review of World Energy 2016  provides world energy statistics on reserves, production/consumption, and prices for oil, natural gas, and coal.  Consumption statistics available for nuclear and alternative/renewable energy.

   Tips for use

  • On the left select Energy Charting Tool and other data links 
  • At the link above, click on the link to the PDF titled Statistical Review of World Energy 2016

AAA Daily Fuel Report  posts current and historical (up to one year ago) daily gas pump prices

   Tips for use

  • Click on the Map and select a state to view pump prices at state level. 
  • At the state level, click View State Metro Area for more detail listing.

GasBuddy.com 

  • Find gas prices for cities across the United States

Energy.gov  Energy datasets and developer tools from multiple government sites.  Examples of datasets include Annual Fuel Economy, Annual Green Vehicle Guide, Energy Star portfolio manager, prices and production.

Key World Energy Statistics


Download publication

International Energy Agency (IEA)

2014

Energy.gov

Energy datasets and developer tools from multiple government sites can be found here.

Examples of datasets include: Annual Fuel Economy, Annual Green Vehicle Guide, Energy Star portfolio manager, prices and production.

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

 

Business Library Workshops:

 

Incoming BBA?  Register for and find out more information about the Incoming BBA Required Workshop BBA Orientation.

Web Resources

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) is the first place to look for industry information on the key sectors of energy. It encompasses domestic and international energy information.

International Energy Agency (IEA) is an international source for energy.

Independent Petroleum Association of America (IPAA) site for data on the industry. Mouse over Economics, Analysis and Intl. at the top for conversion reference tools, historical charts of industry statistics and economic reports with profiles of industry producers and production reports by state.

CME Group  is an options and futures exchange that deals in commodities. It has an encyclopedia/description of various energy resources.  Select Education dropdown, then Glossary.

ICE  is an exchange for energy markets and provides information with data and charts on various energy products.  Select the product to see reports by energy type. Many are downloadable in Excel.

Science Accelerator  Energy industry research and reports. Searches multiple government-sponsored energy resources from one site.  From the Office of Scientific and Technical Information, U.S. Department of Energy.

Resources for the Future A nonprofit institution researching the key sectors of energy to promote efficient technologies and sustainable energy resources.

 PSG Dover  Provides graphics and definitions for production and gathering sectors: Upstream, Midstream, Downstream.

World Energy News An online resource for news about the energy industry. Sign up for free news by email or download the app. Sections for offshore oil and gas, shale oil and gas, LNG, renewables, technology and legislation.

Business Databases
Access to Online Subscription Resources

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

In Library Only: Accessible only at a Business Library computer

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers

Restricted to current SMU students, faculty, & staff

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff 

 

 

EIA Energy Explained
Energy Inc. Texas Edition

Energy Inc. Texas Edition

Provided by the Business Journals, a weekly newsletter about the energy industry.

It covers multiple energy sectors and industry reporting and analysis.

Click the link to sign up for your copy.

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

 

Business Library Workshops:

 

Incoming BBA?  Register for and find out more information about the Incoming BBA Required Workshop BBA Orientation.

Regulations and Policy Resources

 International Energy Agency (IEA) Policies and Measures Database  Areas covered are climate change, IEA/IRENA Global Renewable Energy, energy efficiency.

Tips for use

All areas allow you to search by country or policy type.


Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Provides resources for market research, legal issues, and documents/filings

 Tips for use

 Click on an energy sector from Industries on the menu to get specific policy information for that energy resource.


Environmental Protection Agency Laws and regulations

Tips for use

Go to Regulatory Information by Sector, select Oil & Gas Extraction or Electric Utilities for coal, petroleum, or gas.


Database of State Incentives for Renewables & Efficiency State and federal resource of tax incentives for renewable and efficient energy.


 Energy Policy Research Foundation  Focus is on energy economics, particularly oil.

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

 

Business Library Workshops:

 

Incoming BBA?  Register for and find out more information about the Incoming BBA Required Workshop BBA Orientation.

Web Resources

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Hover over Topics for Short-term Outlook:


 CME Group 

Trading and Market data for commodities. Some data can be downloaded to Excel.


International Energy Agency (IEA): Natural Gas 


Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries

Tips for Use

  • On the main page, select the Oil Market Report for monthly outlook on the world market, prices, supply/demand.
  • On the main page, select the World Oil Outlook report for oil supply & demand and downstream outlook to 2040.
  • The data/graphs tab includes information on taxes and other downloadable data.

American Petroleum Institute

 A resource for policy and issues, standards, and environment safety for oil and natural gas.


Federal Highway Administration Motor fuel usage by state and highway statistics.  U.S. Department of Transportation

Tips for Use

  • Select a State for an overview of fuel and highway statistics
  • Select the Fuels tab then Highway Statistics Motor Fuel for the appropriate year.
Today In Energy

U. S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Daily Prices

  • Wholesale Spot Petroleum Prices:Crude Oil, Gasoline, Heating Oil, and Coal
  • Retail Petroleum Prices
Natural Gas Weekly Update

U. S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

  • Supply and demand data
  • Weekly rig count
  • Spot prices
  • Dry shale gas production data
Baker Hughes Rig Count

Baker Hughes provides monthly international rig counts.

Oil and Gas Journal

News on oil and gas exploration and development, drilling and production, refining and processing, and pipelines and transportation.

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

 

Business Library Workshops:

 

Incoming BBA?  Register for and find out more information about the Incoming BBA Required Workshop BBA Orientation.

Web Resources

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)  industry, statistics, and analysis for coal energy

Tips for Use

  • Under Sources & Uses select Coal
    • From the Coal Overview page, tab through Data for prices, consumption, production and reports.
    • Also find the Analysis & Projections tab.  Here are weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual reports on coal.

International Energy Agency (IEA): Coal

Tips for Use


 World Coal Association Formed by coal producers and stakeholders, the association is focused on sustainability and lower carbon.


The National Mining Association A national organization for the responsible utilization of coal. Information on statistics, maps and tables on coal use, production, export, and mining.

Tips for Use

  • Go to the Coal and Minerals tab and navigate the left side menu for statistics, issues and publications.

U.S. Coal Exports

A publication of the National Mining Association.

Today In Energy

U. S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Daily Prices

  • Wholesale Spot Petroleum Prices:Crude Oil, Gasoline, Heating Oil, and Coal
  • Retail Petroleum Prices
Short-Term Energy Outlook

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) Short-term Energy Outlook.

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

 

Business Library Workshops:

 

Incoming BBA?  Register for and find out more information about the Incoming BBA Required Workshop BBA Orientation.

Web Resources

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)  industry, statistics, and analysis for alternative and renewable energy

Tips for Use

  • Under Sources & Uses select Renewable & Alternative Fuels
    • From the Renewable & Alternative Overview page, tab through Data for information on biomass, geothermal, hydropower, solar, and wind energy.
    • Also find the Analysis & Projections tab.  Here are weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual reports on renewable & alternative fuels and information on pricing, production, and consumption.

International Energy Agency (IEA): Renewables

Tips for Use


National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Tips for use

  • Select links on the left for various renewable energy sectors.
  • Each sector has information on data, projects, and capabilities

The U.S. Department of Energy on Renewable energy

  • Covers electricity generating sectors of solar, geothermal, wind, and water.
  • Information on energy savings in homes, buildings, manufacturing, and government management.
  • Covers sustainable transportation vehicles, bioenergy, and hydrogen & fuel cells
Tracking Clean Energy Progress

 

 International Energy Agency (2015)

Short Term Energy Outlook

U.S. Energy Information Administration

Short Term Energy Outlook: Renewables

Tips for Use

  • Information on carbon dioxide emissions and energy supply by sector. 
  • The Related Tables and Figures sections have information on consumption and supply.
Medium-Term Renewable Energy Market Report 2014
The Energy Report

The Energy Report 100% Renewable Energy by 2050

A scenario presentation of the world run entirely on renewable energy.

Presented by the World Wildlife Federation

 

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

 

Business Library Workshops:

 

Incoming BBA?  Register for and find out more information about the Incoming BBA Required Workshop BBA Orientation.

Business Library Workshops

Register for and learn more about Business Library workshops, led by Business Library librarians, that focus on the information you will need to successfully complete your research.

 

Business Library Workshops:

 

Incoming BBA?  Register for and find out more information about the Incoming BBA Required Workshop BBA Orientation.

Part One: Tracking prices and stock

Stock Prices

Yahoo Finance is an online tool that can help you find daily stock prices.  Access Yahoo Finance http://finance.yahoo.com/ and type your company name in the search box.  Once your company is returned, in the left side menu click Historical Prices to see open, high, low and closing prices.

Gas Prices

Henry Hub Spot Price can help you track your daily gas prices 

Oil Prices

Brent-Europe oil prices can be tracked on the EIA website 

Daily Futures Prices

Daily futures prices for oil and natural gas. Look for the first month's contract available.

Part Two: Company Research

Company Websites

A company will also post its annual reports and filings on their website.  You will usually look for a tab marked Investors, which may be under the About Us section of a website. Also in this area of a website is where you will most likely find news or press releases
 

Databases

Access to Online Subscription Resources

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit ID & password

EZ: Off-campus access using 8-digit SMU ID & password

In Library Only: Accessible only at a Business Library computer

In Library Only: Accessible only on Business Library computers

Restricted to current SMU students, faculty, & staff

Restricted: Only current SMU students, faculty, & staff 

Class Resources

The resources on this page will help you with your class exercise for BUSE 3331.

These resources have been compiled by the library in conjuntion with your professor.

Energy
The Harvard Clean Energy Project Database [CEPDB]
The Clean Energy Project supported by the World Community Grid participants has generated data about 2.3 million candidate compounds for organic electronic materials. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : US Publisher : Harvard University

Combined Heat and Power Installation Database
The Combined Heat & Power (CHP) Installation Database contains information about all the known CHP installations across the country. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : US Publisher : Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Compliance Certification Database
The Compliance Certification Database houses certification reports and compliance statements submitted by manufacturers for covered products and equipment subject to Federal conservation standards. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : US Publisher : U.S. Department of Energy

DOE Global Energy Storage Database
The DOE Global Energy Storage Database provides free, up-to-date information on grid-connected energy storage projects and relevant state and federal policies. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : US Publisher : Sandia National Labs

Indian Renewable Energy And Energy Efficiency Policy Database
IREEED is a publicly available database that is a repository of all central and state government policies, incentives, and programmes related to renewable energy and energy efficiency. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : IN Publisher : Ministry of New and Renewable Energy Government Of India

International Renewable Energy Agency
The Global Atlas for Renewable Energy is an initiative coordinated by IRENA, aimed at closing the gap between nations having access to the necessary datasets, expertise and financial support to evaluate their national renewable energy potential, and those countries lacking such elements. Language : English Registration Required : yes Country : US Publisher : The Global Atlas for Renewable Energy  

Industrial Efficiency Technology Database
Browse this database by sector or system to learn more about technologies, measures, tools and resources - or use the search function to narrow your query. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : CN Publisher : Institute for Industrial Productivity  

Open Energy Info
An online community dedicated to information and data on energy resources. Provides access to energy-related information via geographic discovery, visualizations, and topic-oriented gateways. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : US Publisher : U.S. National Renewable Energy Laboratory  

Private Participation In Renewable Energy Database
This website provides data on private participation in renewable energy projects in developing countries. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : US Publisher : World Bank Group

SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect is your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy

WorldWideEnergy
The database a federated search application giving users a single entry point to find targeted energy-related content. Language : English, German, Spanish, Dutch Registration Required : no Country : US Publisher : U.S. Department of Energy
Minerals / Mining
American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
Site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. Languages: English Registration Required: No Country : US Publisher : Department of Geosciences, University of Arizona  

Economic Minerals Database (Online)
The database provides economic minerals (ore minerals) with commodity, uses, mineral name, chemical formula and all physical properties. The database can be searched by commodity, mineral name and formula. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : AU Publisher : The Minserve Group Pty Ltd

Gemdat
The database is about gemstones and gemology information Language : English Registration Required : no Country : GB Publisher : Jolyon and Katya Ralph

Mineralogical Abstracts [MINABS Online]
MINABS Online provides a unique research tool for researchers working in the fields of mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental mineralogy, and related topics. The database which contains more than 135,000 abstracts of papers published between 1982 and 2008. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : GB Publisher : Mineralogical Society of Great Britain & IrelandMineralogical Society logo

Crystallographic and Crystallochemical Database for Mineral and their Structural Analogues [MINCRYST]
This database gives the information about the crystal structure and chemical analysis based on X ray diffraction method. Language : English, Russian Registration Required : no Country : RU Publisher : Institute of Experimental Mineralogy, Russian Foundation of Basic Research

Mineralogy database
It provides mineral data on individual species searchable by crystallography (and a tutorial), X-ray powderdiffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : Others Publisher : David Barthelmy

Mineralogy database
It provides mineral data on individual species searchable by crystallography (and a tutorial), X-ray powderdiffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : Others Publisher : David Barthelmy

Online Mineral Database
Its a online mineral database which consists minerals with mineral name, chemical formula and crystal system. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : AU Publisher : MinServ

Online Rock Forming Minerals Database
The database contains all rock forming minerals with mineral name, chemical formula and physical properties. The database can be searched by mineral name and formula, gives maximum 50 results per search. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : AU Publisher : The Minserve Group Pty Ltd

Rock Mineral Repository
Provides information on repository of Rock and Mineral. Language : English Registration Required: no Country : IN Publisher : Geological Survey of India

XRD Minerals Database (Online)
XRD mineral database includes all minerals with d1/In, d2/In, d3/In and mineral name. The database can be searched by mineral name and d1. d refers interplanar spacings. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : AU Publisher : The Minserve Group Pty Ltd
Petrol
Geochemistry of Rocks of the Oceans and Continents [GEOROC]
The database is a comprehensive collection of published analyses of volcanic rocks and mantle xenoliths. It contains major and trace element concentrations, radiogenic and nonradiogenic isotope ratios as well as analytical ages for whole rocks, glasses, minerals and inclusions. Currently, GEOROC contains almost 1,570,000 analyses of more than 422,000 samples, published in about 13,900 papers. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : DE Publisher : Max Planck Institute for Chemistry

Online Petrographic Database
Database of rocks with rock name, rock group, family, texture, structure, composition, occurrence and description. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : AU Publisher : MinServ

Petrological Database of the ocean floor [PetDB]
PetDB Search allows you to retrieve any combination of chemical measurements for a group of samples that you can select by the criteria provided. Language : English Registration Required : no Country : US Publisher : Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University
Map Databases
Active fault database of Japan
The database includes information of active faults in Japan, sorted by the concept of behavioral segments. Each fault is subdivided into behavioral segments based on surface trace geometry and rupture history revealed by paleoseismic studies. Faults shown on the index map are linked to a database of behavioral segments, which contains information of geologic and paleoseismic parameters including slip rate, slip per event, recurrence interval, and calculated rupture probability in the future. Behavioral segments can be searched also by name or combination of fault parameters. Language : English, Japanese Registration Required: no Country : JP Publisher : Geological survey of Japan, AIST

Natural Earth
Natural Earth is a public domain map dataset available at 1:10 million, 1:50 million, and 1:110 million map scales. Featuring closely integrated vector and raster data, with Natural Earth one can make a variety of maps with all commonly used cartography and GIS software. Natural Earth is designed to meet the needs of experienced cartographers using a variety of software applications. Language : English Registration Required: no Country : Others Publisher : The North American Cartographic Information Society

The National Geologic Map Database
Distributed archive of standardized geoscience information of America. Language : English Registration Required: no Country : US Publisher : U.S. Geological Survey