Health Sector Management & Policy (HSMP)

Hours
Welcome
Welcome to the Research Guide for the subject discipline of Health Care. This guide provides you with recommended library resources for your research. If you have a research question, which this guide does not address please contact the Deanship of Taibah Libraries at +966-014-xxx=xxxx.
Affordable Healthcare Act
 
JUMPSTARTS
Access Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes three of the medical field’s top academic experts, Mark A. Graber, MD; Diane Levine, MD; and Anderson Spickard, III, MD. AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher :  McGraw-Hill Main database : Access Medicine

BMJ Best Practice Restricted Resource Some full text available
BMJ Best Practice is an online decision-support tool, action-orientated and structured around the patient consultation. It provides medical students the best available information for any clinical situation. Regularly updated, it draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, treatment and prevention on over 1,000 assessment and condition topics. It fits information around real, diverse and evolving medical information needs to give you a second opinion in an instant. BMJ Best Practice is also available on a mobile app, it provides quick and convenient offline access to clinical guidelines, research evidence and expert opinion. It is your instant second opinion whenever and wherever you need it. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : BMJ Main database : British Medical Journals  

Family Health Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Family Health Database offers international coverage dating back to 1988 of an enormous range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity. Particularly of interest to public library users, the public health topics covered in the collection range from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Provided by over 190 publishers, over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM are included in the collection. Key titles include American Family Physician, Psychiatric Times, Psychology Today, Family Relations, Journal of Youth and Adolescence, Men’s Health, Women’s Health Weekly, and Pediatrics for Parents. As content is only valuable if it is discoverable, the collection is presented on the ProQuest platform and its over 350 titles are discoverable through The Summon® Service from ProQuest, OCLC WorldCat, Ex Libris Primo Central, PubMed, and Google Scholar (when enabled). Plus, through the ebooks tab on the ProQuest results page, researchers can cross search their organization's ProQuest ebook holdings (when available) alongside their ProQuest platform database content. In addition, researchers benefit from robust information management and workflow tools and functionality integrated into the platform that make this content appropriate for non-expert and non-English speaking researchers as well as subject matter experts. These user-friendly features include the ability to cite results in numerous citation styles, save as a PDF or other document formats, save searches, and export documents to reference management tools like RefWorks as well as a Health Sciences RSS feed to provide updates on full-text content. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : ProQuest Main database : ProQuest Central‎  (1970 - current)  
Access
List of 100+ Business Databases

The University of Taibah subscribes to over 700 online databases. From the list of 700, over 100 databases are dedicated to the subject discipline of business. Click the link above to access all the business databases.

Remote Access
Remote access to the University of TAiba's online database is possible from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access.  Once you have selected a library research database, you will be prompted for your name and password.  This process is necessary to authenticate your enrollment status at TU.

NOTE:  If you have a firewall on your computer, please bring down the firewall.  All the library research databases contain encrypted data and this will not pass through a firewall.

Resources
Scholarly journals, trade publications, broadcasts, and wires.​  ​  ​  ​  ​  ​
  • MedlinePlus Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
    Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions
  •  ​​Access Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
    AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes three of the medical field’s top academic experts, Mark A. Graber, MD; Diane Levine, MD; and Anderson Spickard, III, MD. AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher :  McGraw-Hill Main database : Access Medicine
  • BMJ Best Practice Restricted Resource Some full text available
    BMJ Best Practice is an online decision-support tool, action-orientated and structured around the patient consultation. It provides medical students the best available information for any clinical situation. Regularly updated, it draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, treatment and prevention on over 1,000 assessment and condition topics. It fits information around real, diverse and evolving medical information needs to give you a second opinion in an instant. BMJ Best Practice is also available on a mobile app, it provides quick and convenient offline access to clinical guidelines, research evidence and expert opinion. It is your instant second opinion whenever and wherever you need it. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : BMJ Main database : British Medical Journals  
  • Family Health Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
    The Family Health Database offers international coverage dating back to 1988 of an enormous range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity. Particularly of interest to public library users, the public health topics covered in the collection range from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Provided by over 190 publishers, over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM are included in the collection. Key titles include American Family Physician, Psychiatric Times, Psychology Today, Family Relations, Journal of Youth and Adolescence, Men’s Health, Women’s Health Weekly, and Pediatrics for Parents. As content is only valuable if it is discoverable, the collection is presented on the ProQuest platform and its over 350 titles are discoverable through The Summon® Service from ProQuest, OCLC WorldCat, Ex Libris Primo Central, PubMed, and Google Scholar (when enabled). Plus, through the ebooks tab on the ProQuest results page, researchers can cross search their organization's ProQuest ebook holdings (when available) alongside their ProQuest platform database content. In addition, researchers benefit from robust information management and workflow tools and functionality integrated into the platform that make this content appropriate for non-expert and non-English speaking researchers as well as subject matter experts. These user-friendly features include the ability to cite results in numerous citation styles, save as a PDF or other document formats, save searches, and export documents to reference management tools like RefWorks as well as a Health Sciences RSS feed to provide updates on full-text content. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : ProQuest Main database : ProQuest Central‎  (1970 - current)   ​  ​  
  • WHO: Research Tools Unrestricted Resource
    Includes links to burden of disease statistics and much more. 
 
Hours
UM Subscription Databases
  •  
  •  
  •  
Academies
  • American Society for Bioethics & Humanities Unrestricted Resource
    The American Society for Bioethics and Humanities promotes the exchange of ideas and fosters multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary, and inter-professional scholarship, research, teaching, policy development, professional development and collegiality among people engaged in clinical and academic bioethics and the medical humanities. 
 
  • Public Responsibility in Medicine & Research Unrestricted Resource
    Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research (PRIM&R) advances the highest ethical standards in the conduct of biomedical, behavioral, and social science research. We accomplish this mission through education, membership services, professional certification, public policy initiatives, and community building. 
 
  • Society for Medical Decision Making Unrestricted Resource
    We are researchers, clinicians, educators, managers and policy makers from a variety of backgrounds and academic disciplines. We work in hospitals, universities, corporations, foundations, and government agencies across the globe. Virtually all medical disciplines are represented in SMDM. 
 
  • University Faculty for Life Unrestricted Resource
    University Faculty for Life was founded in 1989 to promote research, dialogue and publication by faculty who respect the value of human life from inception to natural death. Abortion, infanticide and euthanasia are highly controversial topics, but we believe they should not be resolved by the shouting, newsbites and slogans that have dominated popular presentations. Because we believe the evidence is on our side, we would like to assure a hearing for our views in the academic community.  ​
Institutes
  • Center for Bioethics & Culture Network Unrestricted Resource
    The Center for Bioethics and Culture (CBC) addresses bioethical issues that most profoundly affect our humanity, especially issues that arise in the lives of the most vulnerable among us. The CBC works through a variety of media platforms, including documentary film, writing, speaking, interviews in mainstream media, and new media platforms. 
 
  • Center for Bioethics and Human Dignity Unrestricted Resource
    The Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity explores the nexus of biomedicine, biotechnology, and our common humanity. Within a Judeo-Christian Hippocratic framework, we anticipate, interpret, and engage the pressing bioethical issues of our day. As a center of rigorous research, theological and conceptual analysis, charitable critique, and thoughtful engagement, we bring clarity to the complex issues of our day. 
 
  • Ethics and Public Policy Center Unrestricted Resource
    Founded in 1976, the Ethics and Public Policy Center is Washington, D.C.’s premier institute dedicated to applying the Judeo-Christian moral tradition to critical issues of public policy. From the Cold War to the war on terrorism, from disputes over the role of religion in public life to battles over the nature of the family, EPPC and its scholars have consistently sought to defend and promote our nation’s founding principles—respect for the inherent dignity of the human person, individual freedom and responsibility, justice, the rule of law, and limited government. 
   
  • Kennedy Institute of Ethics Unrestricted Resource
    The Kennedy Institute of Ethics is a center for practically engaged ethics at Georgetown University. Established in 1971 with a founding interest in medical ethics, it is one of the oldest academic ethics centers in the world. 
   
  • Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues Unrestricted Resource
    This Commission is an advisory panel of the nation’s leaders in medicine, science, ethics, religion, law, and engineering. They advise the President on bioethical issues arising from advances in biomedicine and related areas of science and technology. Access their meeting transcripts, latest news, project updates, and more. ​
Hours
Health Statistics (Free)
  • Center for Disease Control and Prevention - Statistics Unrestricted Resource
    Obtain time-series data on numerous health conditions and issues. Includes statistics by race, disability, diseases, education, expenditures, insurance, risk factors, injury, poverty, state, gender, and age groups. 
 
  • Darthmouth Atlas of Health Care Unrestricted Resource
    For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. Search by region, hospital, or topic. 
 
  • Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) from USAID Unrestricted Resource
    DHS supports a range of data collection options that can be tailored to fit specific monitoring and evaluation needs of countries around the world. Search the surveys by country, disease, or year. 
 
  • WHO Global Health Observatory - Country Data Unrestricted Resource
    The GHO "By country" view provides a set of summary statistics for each member state. These statistics provide a high level overview of a country's health indicators. More detailed information is available in the "By topic" view. Information regarding browsing, searching, and downloading data from the repository is available under "About the Observatory".  ​
UM Subscription Databases

Health Management Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Health Management Database is designed for researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration. Featuring full text of key scholarly journals and thousands of dissertations and theses, the Health Management Database offers international coverage to provide health administration researchers, hospital libraries, and health authorities with the highest quality content, much of which is not available elsewhere, from over 260 publishers including Advanstar Communications, Inc., Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association, Health Administration Press, HCPro, Inc., NewsRx and World Health Organization. Content featured includes over 6,000 specialist doctoral dissertations and theses and over 1,100 reports from Business Monitor International related to the health care industry. Featuring magazines, references/reports, scholarly journals, dissertations, top journals, and trade publications, key titles include Health Care Strategic Management, Hospitals and Health Network, International Journal of Health Care, Finance and Economics, Journal of Health Organization and Management, Harvard Business Review, and The Journal of Healthcare Management. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : ProQuest Main database : ProQuest Central‎  (1970 - current)  

BMJ Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
BMJ Journals are at the forefront of cutting-edge research, the latest thinking, expert opinion and news. Many are world leaders in their field such as Gut, Thorax, Heart, Emergency Medicine Journal, and many more. Our journals cover subjects from ophthalmology to sports medicine and from healthcare management to neurology. Underpinning all our products is the belief that learning should be driven by the needs of healthcare professionals and their patients, with higher quality and safer healthcare as its explicit purpose. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : BMJ Main database : British Medical Journals

CAB Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides scientists, academics and students working in these fields with analysis and information on the current research to complement their own assessment. It is be an authoritative resource to help them keep abreast of the latest developments and place their research efforts into context. Language : English Subscription required: Yes Country : USA Publisher : CABI Main database : CABI  
Hours
Policy & Regulation (Free)
 
 
  • Darthmouth Atlas of Health Care Unrestricted Resource
    For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. Search by region, hospital, or topic. 
 
  • Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) from USAID Unrestricted Resource
    DHS supports a range of data collection options that can be tailored to fit specific monitoring and evaluation needs of countries around the world. Search the surveys by country, disease, or year. 
 
  • National Center for Health Statistics Unrestricted Resource
    The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
   
  • Pan American Health Organization - Country Statistics Unrestricted Resource
    Provides a selection of health data and statistics, analytic summaries of the health situation and trend and others information products at country level. Key messages, highlights and information products produced by country health teams will be also included.  ​
Hours